Mr. Steed's 6th Grade Computer Class Blog
A Blog of my students daily thoughts about a different technology subject

March 25th, 2010 Sponge

WHEN CLASSES LIKE COMPUTERS AND THE TEACHING OF SUBJECTS LIKE HOW TO DO MICROSOFT WORD AND MICROSOFT EXCEL AND TYPING ARE SO IMPORTANT TO YOUR FUTURES, WHY IS IT THAT YOU DO NOT TAKE THE CLASS MORE SERIOUSLY AND COMPLETE ALL OF YOUR WORK SO THAT YOU DO NOT FAIL. GIVE ME YOUR ARGUMENT IN THE FORM OF 5 REASONS. (You must use 8 sentences or you will get ZERO CREDIT)

 

 

44 Responses to “March 25th, 2010 Sponge”

  1. Kids are slow typers. And even so you give them long typing work. And some kids are lazy. You have to give them a reason to work. Kids also like new ideas and progects. Your giving them work from last year and the year before. some typing work is boring to. Kids are used to texting. Not typing.

    • All of the work is work from this year, work that I came up with myself. You didn’t do ANY of the work that I give when you were in Mr. Crawford’s class last year, did you? Kids NEED to get used to typing. Name me ONE JOB where you text instead of type. The sponge contains new ideas EVERY day. Your reason to work is your reason. I am providing the basics and then we move to projects. I can’t give projects if you don’t know how to work the programs at all…that’s kind of backwards, isn’t it?

  2. I DO TAKE THE CLASS SERIOUSLY AND COMPLETE MY WORK. BUT SOME PEOPLE I THINK THEY DON’T BECAUSE MAYBE THEY DON’T THINK IT IS IMPORTANT TO THERE FUTURE!

  3. because so times people really cant spell it.but yet other times people do it on purpose. but it don’t help none but that shouldn’t make us fail because we made a mistake. sometimes people do it because they are in a rush. sometimes they mess up because they don’t really fill like doing it.and they like to get on the computer because some reasons like its easier then writing.but yet lots of people like to write and other people like to type a lot. so that is what i think.

  4. their important because some teachers have sloppy hand writing and their much faster and easier

  5. well mostly because some time is to hard to fine somethings but 1 reson because i dot here your instrution or is because don’t khow how to work computer that well

  6. I think that we have computer class on microsoft office and microsoft excel because of what will happen and what we will need in our future.
    We will need excel to do things to sort out our money. To help with our daily lives. And we would need office. To write letters. And write stories.
    This is why i think we will need excel. And also office

  7. ok that is good I gis that we shuold get something like that.

  8. i cant answer this question b/c i do take my classes seriously and i get my work done on time and when im supposed to turn it in, i turn it in on time. 😛

  9. they help us easy to type. that is all i have to say.

  10. Because they do not know or they can’t think of anything else to talk about that subject.

    because people do not know anything else to say about that subject. they do not care about school so they dont need to doit is what they think. they just want to get doen. they want to finish their work so they can play. or they do not know the answer to it.

  11. I DO MY WORK AND TAKE THIS CLASS SERIOSLEY. BUT ALOT OF OTHER KIDS DO NOT I DONT MAYBE THEY DONT THINK THEY WONT TYPE AS MUCH WHEN THEY GET OLDER OR SOMTHING OR THEY’RE TO LAZY TO DO ANYTHING… (: BUT ALOT OF OTHER KIDS GET FUSTRATED BECAUSE THEY’RE NOT VERY FAST TYPERS…YEA THATS ALL I GOT TO SAY (:

  12. I think mircrosoft is good. And that it helps us in present and future. We use this for typing and getting our work done. It also is a hi qualitty resorce to typing things we need. And it helps us learn things and if we take our classes seriusely we can figure it out.

  13. STUDENTS DONT TAKE COMPUTER CASS SERIOS BECAUCE ALOT OF KIDS THINK IT IS BORING AND WE GET TIRED OF DOING WORK ON COPUTERS. MOST OF THE TIME PEOPLE ARE ON COMPUTER TO DO STUFF THEY WANT TO DO LIKE MYSPACE FACEBOOK AND GAMES AND NOT WORK SO WE CANT ADAPT TO WORKING ON COMPUTERS

  14. I DO MY WORK AND TAKE THIS CLASS SERIOSLEY. BUT OTHER KIDS DONT BECAUSE THEY MIGHT THINK THAT THEY WONT HAVE TO TYPE AS MUCH WHEN OLDER… (: AND ALOT OF KIDS GET FUSTRATED BECAUSE THERE NOT AS GOOD AS TYPING AS OTHERES SO THEY GET MAD AND RATHER NOT DO IT. SOME ARE JUST LAZY… AND SOME PEOPLE THINK THEY’RE TOO GOOD FOR SCHOOL WHICH AINT TRUE!!! THAT’S ALL I GOT TO SAY (:

  15. I take my work seriously. I know I dont have any zero’s. Also I know that I dont have any low grades. I know this because I know my education is my only pass to my future. I do all of my work. My friends told me that when they were in this class it was hard to pass but I was not worroed cause I know I am a harder worker then they are and that I actually take my work serious. I know its easy to pass cause alot of people like to have fun and play. I am one of those people but I know before fun and play I must complete my work to the best of my ability and I do!

  16. It’s probably because they feel it’s boring. I mean yeah it’s important, but not exciting. I mean siting there and typing isn’t fun. Plus, all the technological terms can be confusing to some people. I also think it’s because they can’t figure something out, so they just stop trying. I don’t know. This isn’t a topic that involves me. I just say what I think.

  17. Some of us don’t take this class seriously because they think its just a fly by class.Their lazy.They are the reasons why kids don’t take typing seriously because like me they don’t type much,or their lazy.Like me I hate doing projects ,but I have to do them because I want to pass.I hate all this doing work ,but its needed,I think,to pass this grade.Just like that I think this is a good class for all people,young or old.These are some pros and con for this class.The reason I’m on both sides is because I can’t deside

  18. i think we need office to write letters,stories,poems etc. we need excell because if you were like filling out a fundraiser order form then you would know how to fill it out and it would be easier. also if you want to grow up and be like an office worker person who is always on the computer doing stuff then you can get really good at doing stuff now,excell and office would both help you with this.

  19. I think we dont take it serious because we are not in her the whole year we are not in here long enough.

  20. i always take my classes seriously b/c i am thinking about what i want to be when i grow up and i am thinking about what do i want to do what my life and i need to foucus on shcool work and not be messing around and to tell the truth i dont turn in my work on time always but i need to and if i want my future to be bright then i need to focus on my education than other things but i do take my classes very seriously and i do my work but sometimes i forget that i am suppose to turn it in the next day i really do but i try my best and all my classes and i am trying to make my future brighter and better than my parents and they tell me that everyday make your future better than mines cause the only tghing that we had bright in our future was our kids that is what they tell me everyday i put all my effort into my work and know that i can make my life worth something and i will always take my education seriously and nobody and i mean nobody is going to stop me doing what i got to do to pass my classes and get to college and do what i want to do with my life because realitionships is the last thing i am thinking about and kids and everything my education comes first and it will always come first

  21. i do my work know since i knew i was failing social studies.plus most kids don’t get what school is about. school is to teach you how to be successful in life to get you a degree and so you can have a nice house and car and also so you can get a good paying job
    😉

    x>

  22. i do my work. iT happens To be one of The imporTanT tHInqs in my Life. some peopLe may noT compLeTe aLL of Their work because They may noT be a fasT Typer. some jusT donT care whaT Their qrade is. im noT one of Thise peopLe because im noT qoinq To sTay in The same qrade more Than i have TO if aLL i have To do is pay aTTenTion and compLeTe aLL of The work i am required To compLeTe. so i wonT have To worry abouT faiLinq. some sTudenTs aLso have parenTs who couLd careLess whaT kind of qrades They made in schooL. however my qrandmoTher and oTher members of my famiLy isnT Like ThaT. They are deTermined for me To qraduaTe and make someThinq of myseLf. They donT wanT me To amke The dame misTakes That some of Them made on Thier pasT.

  23. ok well i do use my time wisely and idk why other students dont use that time to do they’re work. but i think i might know. it might be because they know that they can get on other stuff on the internet and they not get into trouble for it. but other than that i really dont know why.

  24. Well to tell you the truth I don’t have those problems I always turn in my work. Although I see other kids work and I realize some problems. Well not all kids can type fast as others they many require more time to do work. Also some kids are usually picked on by another kid and they don’t get the work finished. Also some kids have ADHD so they can’t focus that well. They require a more quiet environment to work. Also some kids sometimes don’t understand what to do and are afraid to ask. Although there are those that chose not to do anything. These are the people that don’t deserve a second chance. Usually these are the kids picking on another kid. So in all some kids have good reasons others don’t. To those that do nothing they need to learn this because this because this is the future there is no doubt about it.

  25. I take the class seriously. Other kids prolly dont because they are dumb. Or because they have nothing to look foward to i life. There parents will just baby them, they will life under there momie and daddies roof. I think kids need to be more focused on scool work while they are here so they can be something in life. All the people i have talked to that say they did not care when they were in middle and high school say they regret every bit of it. Another reason why kids dont for real take it seriously is because this school is more like a day care than a school.

  26. i like computer but i just dont like to type. because i not really a fast typer. and the work be borin. and i dont get how the work that we do will help ne the real world. are in life as they say.and i really want to make somethin of myself. but computer is just not my thing. i like them but iam not good with them. but i can learn how to work them if i really try. cause i

  27. sometimes they mess up because they don’t really fill like doing it.and they like to get on the computer because some reasons like its easier then writing.but yet lots of people like to write and other people like to type a lot. so that is what i think.i like computer but i just dont like to type. because i not really a fast typer. and the work be borin. and i dont get how the work that we do will help ne the real world.I take the class seriously. Other kids prolly dont because they are dumb. Or because they have nothing to look foward to i life. There parents will just baby them, they will life under there momie and daddies roof.

  28. kids are slow typers. and they mess up alot

  29. I think that we have computer class on Microsoft office and Microsoft excel because of what will happen and what we will need in our future.
    We will need excel to do things to sort out our money. To help with our daily lives. And we would need office. To write letters. And write stories.
    This is why i think we will need excel. And also Microsoft office too.
    it would certainly help our futures.

  30. i really dont care about what i use to type on because you can type on it but sometimes they are slow and everything eles. in plus people would rather type than write because its cool and faster. in plus people who are fast typers can kill wit typeing. i am and i like to type instead of writing something because it takes really to long. i mean it works. lot of microsoft office really gets it done. as long as you are a really fast typer. i mean i love them.

  31. some kids typ slow. some playing around. some go and play games when they have to work. some waste there time. others dont want to do it. and others dont care if they get a zero. some need extra time so they can finsh the work. thats what some kids do.

  32. the reason people don`t take class seriously is
    1.we are around our friends
    2.we want to look cool
    3.some on else is doing it
    4.some one is forcing them to do it
    5.they want to
    so those are my reasons

  33. i think we need office to write letters,stories,poems etc. we need excel because if you were filling out a fundraiser order form then you would know how to fill it out and it would be easier. also if you want to grow up and be an office worker ,who is always on the computer doing stuff, then you can get really good at doing stuff now. excel and office would both help you with this.:)

  34. no it will not help ours futures because what does it do for us we only type on it and do assignments and i am not just saying dis because i don’t like to do it its because it doesn’t help us do nothing i mean sure its helps us type but only people who want to be a typist when they grow up.

  35. ~*I take my work seriously. I know I don’t have any zero’s. Also I know that I don’t have any low grades. I know this because I know my education is my only pass to my future. I do all of my work. My friends told me that when they were in this class it was hard to pass but I was not worried cause I know I am a harder worker then they are and that I actually take my work serious. I know its easy to pass cause a lot of people like to have fun and play. I am one of those people but I know before fun and play I must complete my work to the best of my ability and I do*~

  36. Well I think its not a joke. Kids don’t take computer class serious because they don’t think that their not going to use it in life. But it will come in handy because it can get you a good job later on. Kids who think they are going to the NBA and the NFL might get an injury and might not be able to play for the rest of their lives. If they don’t take this class serious and not learn the criteria might not have anything to fall back on. Computer class should be taken seriously. I think that because its very important. It shouldn’t be taken lightly.

  37. I THINK THEY THINK THAT ITS EASIER TO WRITE ON THE COMPUTER CAUSE PEOPLE THINK ITS EASIER TO TYPE CAUSE some people are SLOW AND DONT GET THERE WORK DONE CAUSE THEY TALK ALL THE TIME.BUT YET OTHER people like to write and some dont i like to write

  38. I THINK THIS IS BECAUSE PPL REALLY DONT FEEL LIK DOIN NOTHIN BUT GETTIN ON THA INTERNET.Kids are slow typers. And even so you give them long typing work. And some kids are lazy. You have to give them a reason to work. Kids also like new ideas and progects. Your giving them work from last year and the year before. some typing work is boring to. Kids are used to texting. Not typinG.

  39. 1: because some people don’t care. an talk all class.
    2:they don’t care if they fail.and they say its too hard.
    3:they don’t care.get cough off trast.
    4:they don’t fill like doing it.
    5:they do other thing instead of work.:)):)):))

  40. because some people don’t care they talk in class and they don’t care if they fail and they say its to hard they get off task they do other things instead of working

  41. Some people dont take the class seriously because they dont think they have to pass this class to pass the 8th grade. But for me, I atleast try to get good grades and pass and do all the work that is assinged.


Leave a Reply

