Mr. Steed's 6th Grade Computer Class Blog
A Blog of my students daily thoughts about a different technology subject

March 8th, 2010 Sponge

“ARE WE OVERLY DEPENDENT ON TECHNOLOGY? Imagine your parents took your cellphone away from you. Describe other ways you could use to communicate with people?” (Write at least 8 sentences or you will get ZERO CREDIT)

 

77 Responses to “March 8th, 2010 Sponge”

  1. yes i think we are to dependent on technology. because if i had my phone taken away i wouldn’t know how to communicate. unless they didn’t take away my computer privileges. other them passing notes in class or using a home phone.

  2. if my mom took my cell phone away from me i would hate it i would have 2 use the house phone and then if i did that i wouldn’t be aloud 2 talk on it long because other people would need 2 use it. i would be able 2 get on my-space ans face-book and write people. but the only way i could talk 2 my friends would be on the house phone and on my-space or face book…. 😦

  3. i would just go on the computer and go to myspace or facebook and talk to my friends there :] [if i got my phone taken away]

  4. There are many ways to communicate the talking/texting on the cell-phone. You can write a letter. You can send a letter any where. But on a cell-phone you can’t always get a signal. Some people do not have a phone or cell-phone so its good for them to have options. You can also e-mail someone. And you don’t have to worry bout misspelling, because it will show you your mistake. Both of these are good choice and there are many others.

  5. if my parent did took my selphone away i will talk to people by getting on myspace in send them a message or go over he/she hous in talk to them or talk too them at school

  6. yes we are OVERLY DEPENDENT on technology because we use it in everyday life if we did not have anymore technology.

  7. we could use our computers to comuniicate if we have one. umm we can try to use someone elses phone.i would get my home phone hooked up probally.i would try anything to get my phone back. if there is people who live around u that u hang out with u can comunicate with them.i would use my xbox i got lots of ways. so computer someone elses phone or electron9cs (xbox)

  8. Well i don’t have a cell phone cause i have a home phone. Well you always have the computer to send message’s. Or you can use a X box 360 online. Or PS3 to talk to Ur friends across the country. Or you can drive to someones house and talk.

  9. Yes we are overly dependent on technology because some people today cant go one day with out a phone or TV if all the technology some will not make it a day with it, see i cant live with out my phone i just got my phone back and i almost gave up

  10. i think that we are great to have technology to communicate with your friends or family.

  11. I don’t have a cell phone so these are way’s that I have to communicate with people. One way I talk to people is face to face witch is the way I like it because it is so much easier than having technology problems. and if that person is far away you can write a letter to them and talk to them that way. and yes I think that people are to independent on technology. some people if you take away there cell phone and computer they wouldn’t know what to do. the person would just die, well not really but you know what I mean. But technology doe’s come in handy for long distance or really quick talk like if your lost. so now you know why people depend on technology so much.

  12. I am overly dependent on technology. Because my parents don’t let me go any where. So having a phone helps me communicate with people, outside of school. not having a phone, i would probally only have the chose of talking to people in school… or on the house phone. another way i could communicate with people with out using a cellphone, is by the computer, on sites such as, myspace, or facebook. and i guess i could try and get people to come to my house , or me be able to go to theirs.

  13. I dont have a cell phone so i can use the phone at home or the phone i the car my moms car.

  14. I dont have a cell phone so i can use the phone at home or the phone i the car my mom’s car.

  15. i think my parents shouldn’t take my cell phone away from me cause what if you was at your house and somebody was trying to break in your house and you don’t have a house phone. then when your parents get home and start calling your name what are you going to do. well they’re going to come upstairs and call your name again and they notice that your missing then their going to start calling the police and say my kid got stollen what am i supose to do officer.

  16. i don’t have a cellphone, so maybe i could use my house phone… 😦 but i do think that people are definitely too reliable on technology. we could also use our computers too communicate with each other through email…:o

  17. i don’t have a cellphone, so maybe i could use my house phone… 😦 but i do think that people are definitely too reliable on technology. we could also use our computers too communicate with each other through email… 😮 though

  18. If my dad can’t take my selfphone away because i don’t have a ceellphone. I would just go to the persons house and talk to the person. Or i would just not talk to people. i could get on the computer and tak to the person on there.

  19. you cold go over to there house you could meet them some where maby at a stor house restront and maby stay a night if the parnts say they can if i got my cell phone taken awhy i would be mad but not throw a fit it is the why of life and all so ask your parnts if you could go over to her house see what they say if they say yes than have fun but if say no well have fun in your house or call a nother person…?

  20. a way that i can communicate with out my cellphone is that i can use the xbox 360. on xbox 360 it’s better because you can play games wow taking to your friends. you do not have to worry about wasting your mintues if you have a phone that needs mintues. you also can get on myspace and talk to your friends.

  21. i would get on the computer and tlak to my freinds and i will just use the house phone or just wait till the next day and see them at school and talk to them there

  22. THAT WOULD SUCK. BUT I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO TALK WITHOUT IT. ONE WAY IS TO MAIL A LETTER. HAVE PEOPLE SEND IT FOR YOU. EMAIL. TALKING TO THEM BY YOURSELF. OTHER THAN THOSE I DONT KNOW ANY OTHER WAYS TO COMMUNICATE WITH FRIENDS OR FAMILY.

  23. If my parents took my cell-phone away I would Message people on myspace. I would IM people on myspace. I would E-mail people on yahoo. I would leave comments on myspace. I would leave comments on Youtube. I would write a letter to someone by mail. I would go over someones house to see them in person. And
    I would use my home telephone.

  24. well if my mom was too take my cell phone away one way i could keep intouch with people is by sending letters.or emailing them .they took our phones not our computers ! or what about the house phone ” you can use that if you have one . but thats my idea

  25. another way i can use to communicate with my cell phone is that i have my brothers x box online . and my mother will take me to their house ans see where their going/what their doing. or at school i can talk to them. and i can get on my face book or my my space and yahoo to communicate with my friends and family.

  26. yehh i think we are to dependent on cell phones! if my parents took my cell phone away then i dont know how i would communicate with people. i could use my house phone to call people.i could talk to people on myspace…or if you wanna do it the hard way then you can write a letter to somebody and send it in there mail.. i could also walk over to there house or have my mom drive me there and just hang there withh them and meet up with some other friends:)

  27. honestly i cant realy think of any other ways to comunicate without my cell phone.unless you could write somebody a note. my cell is my life line i cant go anywhere without it i don’t do anything without my cell.all my information is on my cell.so going outside and writing letters are the only other comunication that i can think of.

  28. youu could communicate by the internet an you could talk on the house phone an youu could also write letters to people !

  29. and i will also im people and i will use my house phone. or i will use my sister cell phone. now if i couldn’t do that then i would just sneak out of my window and leave…. lol

  30. If i got my cell phone took away the other way i could communicate with my friends would be to use the computer and email them.
    i could also talk to them face to face.
    i could use the house phone.
    i could also write letters.

  31. I would use the internet on my computer and get on there and talk to my friends on myspace. If i couldn’t talk to them on myspace i would talk to them in school. But i don’t ahve my cellphone i got it taken away but if i did ahve it i would be talking to people and texting people and if i didnt ahve my phone i woulsd get on myspace.

  32. If i had my phone taken away I would go talk to my friends face to face or i would write a letter to someone i know there is so many ways of communicating.

  33. if my parents took my cell phone i would send letters to my friends and go to there house and talk .i could also meet them some where to hang out . i could email talk to them on facebook or myspace

  34. You could get on the computer. Or if you don’t have a computer you could use your house phone. You could tell them at school where to meet. Then you could go to their house. You could use your little sister or bother phone.

  35. YOU CAN TAKE AND MEET AT A PLACES AND AT SCHOOL AT THE EN OF THE DAY OR GO ON THE BUS AND GO HOME WITH HE OR SHE AND GO OUT SIDE WHEN AT HOME OR DO THING LIKE PLAY BALL

  36. If my cell phone was taken it wouldn’t bother me. I talk to my friends in person most of the time. I own a watch so I have the time. I would go outside and talk to my friends. I live near two parks so there’s plenty to do. I have a brother so I have someone to play with. I don’t depend on my cell phone. I don’t see why anyone does.

  37. I COULD use the computer, i could go to the mall, i would connect to x-box live and chat

  38. If my parents took my cellphone away i would you my computer to communicate with friends and family.I’d also go outside if it’s a week day or play video games if its a weekend.You could also meet face to face and talk.You could also connect to your with your friends on a video game.

  39. Yes i am very over dependent on technoligy. I am always trieng to call someone. Also i use a computer evey day. But i can always ride over to someones house to hang out. Also you could write letters to people that are far away. There are tons of ways to communicate with people.

  40. if my parents took my cell phone i would email my friends are go hang out with them. chat with them online

  41. if my parents took my phone i would send my friends letters and go to there house. i could also meet them some where to hang out. i could email them or talk to htem on facebook or myspace

  42. I think that we can go a day with a cell phone because all you got to do if you are a boy is to go out and do so thing so that is what you will have to do if your a boy for a girl go to the mall with your friends and for older people ho don’t have a kids can go out and do some thing tough are the thing you can do.

  43. I think we are overly dependent on technology becaus eif anything ever happens and were not allowed to use cell phones or computs people will probably be thinking Oh no! I cant get a hold of people! They probably wont think of the mail. some people well alot would but then alot wouldnt. Everyone is always on the computer. No matter who you are you will probably have at least a emial accout on anything or a myspace or something.

  44. If my parents took my cellphone i could go to the library and geet on my myspace and yahoo and chat with my friends through school. but if i coulodnt do that then i would just go outside and play basketball with my friends and chat face to face.

  45. If my parents took my cellphone i could go to the library and geet on my myspace and yahoo and chat with my friends through school. but if i coulodnt do that then i would just go outside and play basketball with my friends and chat face to face.

  46. facebook, emai,l myspace ,ps3

  47. If I were to get my phone taken away as a consequence of a variety of reasons, there would still be many other ways to communicate with your friends, family, etc. One of the many ways is through E-mail. This is a very useful form of communication because of the easy accesibility and use. The only thing you need for E-mail is an internet access and screenname to a variety of providers. Another way to communicate would be by means of writing letters. Letters are also easily accessible due to the lack of materials or objects you need provided. All you need for a letter is a piece of paper and a writing utencil. There are many ways to communicate with your friends other than the overly dependent cell-phone.

  48. I think i can go with out a cellphone for a week i will go to the libary. Then i will get on myspace to vhat with my friends and i will be there for a along time because i dont want to go home and do nothing because my parents took my cellphone. And i will stay and chat on myspace because that is fun then going home doing nothing.

  49. I think i can go with out a cellphone for a week i will go to the libary. Then i will get on myspace to vhat with my friends and i will be there for a along time because i dont want to go home and do nothing because my parents took my cellphone. And i will stay and chat on myspace.

  50. It would be hard to communicate without cellphones. Although you could use a payphone but that’s no benefit. You can write letters but that takes to long. Also the postal service is thinking of shortening the days the mail is going to get picked up so it’s going to take even longer. Well let’s face it we have become very technology depended we can’t function properly without technology anymore. We have technology do many things for us now in days. I think not having a phone cuts us of most of the outside world. So I think I’ll do anything I can to not get my phone taken up in the first place.

  51. one way we could communicate with others is, write a letter. or you could walk over their house. some people even email each other. but some tiimes it is very usefull to have a cell phone. ex:i could be down the street and my mom needed to get ahold of me to tell me something has happend, how would she get ahold of me she has my phone?. so sometimes parents need to look at things in another way. Or they could just turn it around and think about not just whats best for the child but what is best for the parents as well.

  52. if my qranny Took my phone away from me i wouLd TaLk To aLL my friends on The inTerneT. myspace is aLways avaLiabLe even wiThouT a phone. i couLd aLso use facebook. i can use my sisTers phone if my phone wasn’T avaiLabLe.if i had To i wouLd senT my friends maiL unTiL my phone was avaiLabLe To me. or i couLd jusT sTay over my cousins house and use her phone. she LeTs me do whaTever i pLease.so communicaTion wouLd be no probLem.

  53. I think we could go with out cell phone because the pnly thing you have to do is talk on the housephone, go out side,or send emails to your friends and I think that we overly depend on techology but not on nothing

  54. if my mama took my phone. i would use my brothers phone. are i would get on my myspace. because most people i talk to got a myspace. are i could go over someones house and just use there phone. plus my cuzo live right across from me. so it would be all goodie.are he can come over and i will use his phone at 9. because he got a diffrent can of plan.

  55. If my mommy took my fone. i would use her fone, or the house fone. i mostly text and call people. so it wouldnt really favse me. and i will make her guilty for taking my fone. because when i want to go places i would have to have a fone to get picked up. and if i go hurt i would S.O.L

  56. if my momma took my phone. i don’t now for real. do u? i always text or call my peeps. well mostly text. i would not live wit out eva texting or calling someone. well i don’t really like my momma. so yeah.

  57. there are many other way to talk to people like sending letters going on web sites like myspace, yahoo, or facebook you can even go visit people.

  58. if my parents took my phone i wouldn’t be able to use any phone cause mostly that means i am on a punishment. that what it means if i got my phone tooken away. but sometimes i am not on a punishment and i got my phone cut off or tooken away then i would go over my friends house or i would use my house phone. but i wouldn’t care i f got my phone tooken away i could just get on meez, myspace, zwinky, and all my profiles. those are things i can do if i got my phone tooken away.

  59. I would write a letter to my bffel. Or I would use the house phone. Or i would use my dad’s phone. I could also meet in person. Plus just meeting in person can help your phone bill to.You could have so much more fun if you meet in person. I would also take my parents phones. That’s what I would do

  60. first i would feel like i cant do anything. then i would do something. i would not talk to them. i would wright them a letter. i could go to there house and talk. if it rains i would tell my mom to drive me. if she cant i would just stay home and watch television. i could invite them to my house to talk. but it would be really boring whit out my phone.

  61. one thing is the computers. another thing is by going to your friends house. you can chat with your friends too. or you can talk to them at school. and when you go to lunch at school you can have a talk.one thing is that you can use the house phone.thats why we need phones. i glad that we have phones.

  62. I COULD A DAY WITHOUT A CELL PHONE.I DIDNT GET 1 UNTILL LIKE END OF AUGUST 09. EVEN WITH A CELL I DONT USE IT OFTEN.

  63. IF MY MOM TOOK AWAY MY PHONE I WOULD USE THE HOUSE PHONE OR HER CELLPHONE OR I WOULD TALK TO PEOPLE ON THE COMPUTER OR GO TO THERE HOUSE AND TALK TO THEM IT WOULDN’T BE HARD COMMUNICATING WITHOUT A CELLPHONE BUT I THINK WE SHOULD HAVE THEM BUT IT WOULD BE OK I THINK PEOPLE COULD LIVE WITHOUT THEM

  64. i think we are overly dependent.i would use my moms cell phone.or use my friends cell phone.or i would communicate on my dsi ,ds or the computer.but i serious about my cell phone if my mom took mine away i would be thinking of some way to communicate.or i would go on my psp and other stuff i can communicate on.i would even go to a payphone for all i care.i could even use the house phone.

  65. If my parents took my cellphone away it wouldn’t be that bad. I think it wouldn’t be that bad because there are other ways to communicate. I could communicate with others by emailing online with a computer. I could write letters to a person far away. There are other ways to communicate but I think to many kids my age rely to much on texting each other on their phones. I also think that the best way to talk to someone is in person. I think this because you can actually interact with that person. I think we rely to much on phones because its easier than talking in person.

  66. Yes they are overly dependent. If my mom or dad took my phone i would be mad because i use it to text and call my friends and i would not be able to use the house phones because there numbers are in my phone to. Other ways people can communicate is writing letters or talking in person. Talking in person is the hardiest way because what if they live in a different state or miles away. Letters are not really good because it can cost money and it is longer to write then type. Texting is easy because all you have to do because you just type it then press send. A few other way people talk is the computer like Myspace or the ps3, Ds, and the psp. These are easy to.

  67. ~*becuse you would have tio go out in the winter and go and tell some one wat u want to tell them and u will ahve to write them letters*~

  68. if my mommah took my phone away i wouLd use the internet to taLk to my friends because there is aLot of websites to taLk to your friends on or i wouLd use the house phone and if you dont have a house phone or computer you can write a Letter to them to keep intouch.

  69. i would haft to write. or go to there house. or talk to them at school.
    or i would haft to go on my space. or my parents would haft to give me my phone back. or i would haft to take my brother phone. or my moms phone. so just don’t say that

  70. If my parents took away my phone. I would talk to my friends by. sending them letters. using e,mail. talking to them in person. yealing at them frome adistents. aculy I have never had a cell phone.

  71. if my parent took mi cell away i would get mad. but i guess i would b on tha computer emailin mi friends. or i would probably use tha house phone or mi mommys fone.

  72. if my parents took away my phone. i would comunakate with them by. useing email. make letters. talk to the person. yell to the person. walky talky. or ask people to talk to the prson for you.

  73. if my mom took my cell phone i would still it back when she goes to sleep. or i would take her phone when she went to sleep. but i would use the house phone. it saves min. but i would be mad at her.but i would get over it and use the house phone instead of using all of my min.but she does it because i have done something wrong.so that is how i would live with out technology

  74. I dont think that techoly rules us.

  75. that is so cool we need phons like that.

  76. I think we are overly dependent on technology. If my mom took my cell phone away I would write to people. I would email people. Cell phones aren’t the only way of communication. I would walk to the persons house If I wanted to talk to them that badly.

  77. If my parents took away my phone I would use my mom phone or one of my friends phone;)


Leave a Reply

